Ravindra Jadeja Appointed Vice-Captain for India’s T20I Series Against South Africa

In place of Rohit Sharma, Hardik Pandya, and KL Rahul, Suryakumar Yadav will lead the Indian cricket team in the forthcoming three-match Twenty20 series against South Africa. Senior all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja will be the new vice-captain for the series, despite having players like Shreyas Iyer and Ruturaj Gaikwad in the squad.

The Kingsmead Stadium in Durban will host the series’ opening game on December 10. Jadeja’s back injury kept him out of action from his last T20 match in August 2022, but this series will be his first back. Jadeja has been picked for the South Africa tour with an eye toward the T20 World Cup in 2024, along with three other players from India’s ODI World Cup 2023 squad, following his absence from the T20I series against Australia.

In the T20 series against Australia, where Ruturaj Gaikwad and Shreyas Iyer were vice captains in different games, Suryakumar Yadav had earlier guided the team to a 4-1 victory. Jadeja, on the other hand, has been named the new vice captain for the South Africa T20Is.

Yashasvi Jaiswal, Shubman Gill, Ishan Kishan, Mohammed Siraj, Washington Sundar, Kuldeep Yadav, and other players are part of the Indian team for the Twenty20 International series.

ALSO READ: MS Dhoni’s Weighty Condition: The Hilarious Tale of CSK’s Selection Criteria Revealed in 2018

1 thought on “Ravindra Jadeja Appointed Vice-Captain for India’s T20I Series Against South Africa”

Leave a comment